Disabling the splash screen during boot on Ubuntu Lucid Lynx

Posted on May 22, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , |

I recently upgraded to Ubuntu Lucid Lynx. I get a nice blue (Kubuntu) splash screen during system startup. However, on one of my systems, the splash screen gets stuck from time to time (I once succesfully tried logging in over the network, so probably the system boots ok but the splash screen stays).

After searching around a bit, I replaced

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"

by

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=""

in the file /etc/default/grub and then I ran

sudo update-grub

On the next reboot, instead of getting the splash screen, I got the detailed text messages about the progress of the boot process.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

